Business leaders blitz Australia Day honours list

Greenhill Caliburn co-chief executive Simon Mordant receives OAM; Eddington, Every given honours.

By a staff reporter, with AAP

Business leaders have made a strong showing in this year's Australia Day awards, with executives from a number of sectors recognised for their contributions to the nation.

Greenhill Caliburn co-chief executive Simon Mordant has been appointed a Member of the Order of Australia, for services to Australian arts and culture.

The award recognises Mr Mordant’s work in the arts sector, including his philanthropy and contribution to various arts organisations at board level.

Mr Mordant, who has also served as deputy president of the federal government's Takeovers Panel, has previously held executive roles at Barclays' investment arm, BZW, and ABN AMRO.

He is currently chairman of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Sydney, and is Australia’s commissioner for the 2013 Venice Biennale art exhibition.

Meanwhile, Infrastructure Australia chairman Sir Rod Eddington has been named as an Officer of the Order of Australia, for his service to local business and commerce.

Sir Eddington is also non-executive chairman at JPMorgan Chase & Co Australasia and a director at News Corporation.

Wesfarmers Ltd and Boral Ltd chairman Dr Bob Every has also been appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia, in recognition of his charity work and contribution to the Australian steel sector.

Dr Every, who was described as an advocate for corporate social responsibility on receiving his award, was managing director and chief executive officer at OneSteel Ltd between 2000 and 2005.

Beer, Ryan, Skellern honoured

Gourmet produce entrepreneur Maggie Beer has been named a Member of the Order of Australia.

Ms Beer opened Pheasant Farm restaurant in Adelaide's Barossa Valley in 1979, selling locally-grown game, and is now the owner of a multimillion-dollar business with 85 employees.

Commonwealth Bank of Australia Ltd director Fergus Ryan has been installed as an Officer of the Order of Australia, in recognition of his contribution to the local financial sector.

Mr Ryan was a member of the Prime Minister’s community business partnership and a trustee of Committee for Economic Development of Australia up until 2007.

Fellow Officer of the Order of Australia Dr David Skellern has been recognised for science, engineering and research.

Dr Skellern was chief executive officer of National Information and Communication Technology between 2005 and 2011.

Terry Moran, a former advisor to Prime Minister Julia Gillard, has been appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia.

"For me it's important because it's recognition of the work of public servants," he told AAP.

Mr Moran spent nearly four decades in bureaucracies around Australia, retiring in 2011 as the head of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Want access to our latest research and new buy ideas?

Start a free 15 day trial and gain access to our research, recommendations and market-beating model portfolios.

Sign up for free

Related Articles